Posted by: randydunning | October 15, 2007

No More GMS!

Yesterday I preached on judging others and employed one of the hallmark texts on the subject from Matthew 7 where Jesus says, “Why do you look at the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? First take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.”

If you think about it, removing an object from your own eye requires some pretty close observation of the situation. And I think it is that way for just about any important shift we have to make regarding our lives. Scrutinization of our ways and motives is required if we are going to make effective changes. But getting that up close and personal with ourselves is potentially painful. It can certainly make us wince – just like optical object removal. I’ll give you a good personal example.

I recently took up editing my sermons before posting them online. The goal was simply to cut the audio down to the message proper, eliminating the preliminary announcements and the post-sermon prayer time. But I got a bit carried away a few weeks ago and edited the entire sermon. I did it again this week. Once I got started I just couldn’t stop! The more I listened, the more stuff I found that needed to be removed – vocal ticks (“now,” “so,” “um”), excessively long pauses and general GMS (gross mouth sounds). I couldn’t believe all the unnecessary stuff I had in there and it made me pretty squeamish while listening. After all, my sermons don’t usually make my iPod playlist so I rarely evaluate myself. But a good, close assessment of the past few weeks makes me realize there are a few “technical” aspects of public speaking that I’d like to change – most notably GMS!

I suppose I’m glad I took a closer look, er, listen. Hopefully my congregation will be grateful as well.

gms.002-500x375.shkl1.jpg

Responses

  1. I suppose I do twice as many of these annoying habits each of the five DAYS I have kids. I would consider you normal, Darling!

    You could always take speaking lessons. Some of the great orators might have.

  2. We need to get you a hobby.

  3. I have a hobby. It’s called blogging and audio editing. I’m sure your solution is fantasy football or a hearty game of RISK!

  4. LOL!!

  5. Toastmasters – 9:00 Wednesday mornings. We will focus the “Ah” counter on you…


Leave a Reply

Categories

