Posted by: randydunning | December 4, 2007

Realize, then receive.

I ran across a rather startling revelation today in scripture (well, at least to me).  Grace and truth have to be realized before they are received.  Let me explain.

The past few weeks I’ve been in somewhat of a mental and emotional fog.  Marked by equal parts of anger, apathy, confusion and mild depression it hasn’t been a rollicking good time.  Initially I blamed it on the weather or a Thanksgiving turkey hangover.  But it hasn’t just gone away on its own as I expected.

I tried looking inwardly to discover what might be going on but the more I did the more I felt like I was imploding, my negative emotions feeding on each other.  The situation seemed to get worse and I didn’t feel like doing much of anything (including blogging you may have noticed). But during a time of prayer this morning I seem to have stumbled across an answer in the form of John 1:17 which says, “For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth were realized through Jesus Christ.”

Grace and truth are two things we need badly: grace to get us through tough times and the truth to lead us out of them.  God has abundantly provided both grace and truth but they become inaccessible when we forget (or in my case, neglect) them.  It then becomes easy to exchange God’s unlimited resources for our very limited ones.  Let the implosion begin!

The current season of Advent is all about the world realizing that the one “full of grace and truth” had come into the world.  Of course such a global realization isn’t enough to make a difference in our personal life.  For Jesus to perpetually infiltrate the darkness of our hearts we must realize his intention to reside there.  Then may we say with John 1:16, “For of His fullness we have all received, and grace upon grace.”

I’m beginning a quest to re-realize God’s abundant grace and truth.  Hopefully I’ll be at a place very soon to begin receiving them!

Responses

  1. Awesome insight! One way to realize it more is through giving it. Ever notice that when you teach, you learn more than when you are a student? Well, as we spread the truth we know, it builds upon itself and we get more truth. Likewise, as we abound grace towards others, we recieve it more. Notice that the two are coupled together, though! Grace isn’t overlooking truth. It totally acknowledges the very cause of grace being needed, and gives grace anyway. Then the depth of the love behind the grace given is felt! Just overlooking, and putting up with fault causes BURNOUT.

  2. I have always appreciated your candid description of the challenges in your walk. Your faith is so very real to me and closely mirrors some of my own struggles.

    THANKS FOR KEEPING IT REAL RPD!!!! I love you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

