Posted by: randydunning | December 29, 2007

21-Day New Year Challenge

bible2-250x249shkl.jpgmoleskine-pocket-plain-notebook00-250x235shkl.jpg
I am issuing a challenge to myself and to my church and I would like to invite you to join me.

The challenge is this: read one chapter from the gospel of John and journal about it for the first 21 days of 2008. It is a simple challenge and along with it comes a simple goal: to hear from God everyday.

I have been a journal keeper for much of my Christian life. However, I have not been a consistent journal keeper. I will go strong for several weeks or a few months journaling consistently and then neglect my journal for a similar amount of time. A sporadic journaler would best describe me. But I would like that to change in 2008. Why? Because some of the most growth-filled times of my walk with Jesus have come when I journaled regularly.

Simply put, when you hear from God on a daily basis, His words to you transform your life. In Isaiah 55:11 God says through his prophet:

So will My word be which goes forth from My mouth;
        It will not return to Me empty,
        Without accomplishing what I desire,
        And without succeeding in the matter for which I sent it.
Isaiah 55.11 NASB

I believe that God wants me to hear from Him every day. I believe the same for you. And journaling is one of the best ways I know to make that happen.

I am planning on posting my journal entries here on my blog every day (got this idea from the blog of Dave Ferguson) in the hopes that we can encourage each other in this endeavor – me by posting and you by commenting.

So dust off an old journal, get to a bookstore and purchase a new one, or just grab a notebook and pen. And check back here on December 31st for a bit more direction on the 21-Day Challenge.

I am excited to get re-started hearing daily from God in 2008!

Responses

  1. Thanks for the challenge Randy. I started reading John today!

  2. It is January 5th, but I will pick up the challenge, Randy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

