Posted by: randydunning | January 2, 2008

Day 2 | John 2

picture-62.png

Text: John 2

Key Verse: 4, 16
“And Jesus said to her, ‘Woman, what does that have to do with us? My hour has not yet come.'”
“…and to those who were selling the doves He said, ‘Take these things away; stop making My Father’s house a place of business.'”

Reflection:
This chapter shows quite a contrast in the response Jesus has to two different situations. At the wedding in Cana he is reluctant to act. In Jerusalem at the temple he acted passionately and decisively. In both situations something was amiss.

In Cana someone had bungled the catering order and ran out of wine. This would be a great embarassment but Jesus initially acts as if it is none of his business. But in Jerusalem where people were operating for-profit tables selling animals for sacrifice, he makes the situation his business. Indeed, Jesus clearly sees worship at the temple as the family business (“My Father’s house”).

It seems that Jesus will stay out of our personal business until he is asked to help or invited in. But if we actively misrepresent him and lead people astray from what true worship is, Jesus gets involved without being asked and initiates necessary change.

This is a balanced model of ministry and one I desire to emulate.

Prayer:
Lord, it is often difficult to discern when to leave people and their personal situations alone and when to jump in with both feet. Please give me the wisdom to know how to respond to each ministry situation. Sometimes I need to be pushed in. Sometimes I need to be pulled back. Guide me by your Holy Spirit to know the timing and the role You would have for me in my personal relationships and my position as a pastor.

Responses

  1. Interesting point, I never looked at it that way before. Good thoughts, Randy.

  2. That is definitely an interesting point. I have often struggled to understand how Jesus reacts at the wedding in Cana. It almost seems he is reluctant to act, but this is not the norm for Jesus’ ministry as a whole. I don’t know that I ever interpreted that story as a different approach to ministry. Thanks for the insight!

  3. My initial take on Ch. 2 is that Jesus was initially shy to get involved at the wedding and then overcompensates in his response at the temple. And being that this is the beginning of his ministry it might seem he is unsure of how to proceed in this new endeavor. I don’t know that is the case, however.

    We also have to remember that, though these two events occur in the same chapter, they would have happened a good time apart. It takes a while to walk from Cana to Jerusalem.


Leave a Reply

Categories

