Posted by: randydunning | January 4, 2008

Day 4 | John 4

day-4.png

Text: John 4

Key Verse: 16
“He said to her, ‘Go call your husband and come here.'”

Reflection:
Jesus is speaking with a Samaritan woman at Jacob’s well about water, the conversation sparked by his simple request for a drink (we never find out if he got it). When he references “living water” the woman, like Nicodemus in chapter 3, doesn’t understand because she is stuck thinking in the physical realm. She goes on to ask him for “this water” as it would relieve her not only of thirst but also her daily burden to come and draw and bear the water back home. This is when he asks the hammer of a question in v. 16.

Perhaps Jesus was simply being proper. If he was going to continue this conversation with a woman it would be good to have her husband present. But in some ways the question comes out of left field. It was an abrupt change in the direction of the conversation and it stopped this woman’s line of thought in its tracks. She went from the exciting prospect of in-house running water to the embarrassing prospect of confessing her track record with men. But Jesus’ question accomplished an important purpose – changing her focus from physical things to spiritual things. And once she is refocused, she begins to see Jesus for who he is – the Messiah, the Son of God.

It is always difficult when Jesus asks these kind of questions. But whether they simply arise in my heart, get asked through another, or come from reading scripture, I find them completely necessary to refocus my attention back on the things of God.

Prayer:
Lord, may I not close my ears to the probing questions You want to ask that would snap me back to the reality of Your reign in my life. Help me keep my eyes and heart fixed on You so that I don’t become mired in physical details and concerns. May I worship You in Spirit and truth.

Responses

  1. I see you pulled a John, “(we never find out if he got it)”. This is one of the huge reasons I enjoy the gospel of John so much. It’s like he’s having a conversation with us and tends to remember things after the fact and is not affraid to tell us about it when he thinks of it. It brings it down to earth and I think that many people have an easier time reading and relating to it because of that. God is amazing that there are four gospels and each one seems to relate to us in a different way. Amazing.

  2. vs 4-10 — This makes me wonder who I don’t feel comfortable being around. We all tend to hang out with people who are mostly like us. That’s why Sunday is the most segregated day of the week. But because Jesus broke with the social norms, many people came to know Jesus.

    vs 28-32 — Just like today’s farmers who don’t come in from the harvest until the job is done, Jesus went on sharing with the people as they came to see him. I must look for the opportunities that God presents to me to share the gospel, and to use all my energy to serve Him.

  3. It is interesting how Jesus keeps turning the conversation to the physical. But even after the hammer of v. 16 is thrown, the woman still doesn’t want to acknowledge who Jesus is. She makes excuses about why Jesus being a “prophet” shouldn’t matter to her. In that sense, I can relate to this woman. I know who God is, yet still continue to make excuses to justify what I do. I enjoy the comfortable place I am at, and that next step in a relationship with God is unnerving and dangerous. I hope that makes some sense. It just always seems to take one more act of God to move me from the place I am at.

  4. Hi Randy,
    Just wanted to tell you how much we are enjoying the 21 day challenge. The kids are really getting into it also! Thanks for this great idea.

    Peace,
    Calmes


Leave a Reply

Categories

