Posted by: randydunning | January 9, 2008

Day 9 | John 9

day-91.png

Text: John 9

Key Verse: 25
“He then answered, ‘Whether He is a sinner, I do not know; one thing I do know, that through I was blind, now I see.'”

Reflection:
We are often quick to discredit what we don’t understand, especially if what we don’t understand is of a spiritual or supernatural nature. I believe the basis for such reactions is fear and pride. We are afraid we might be missing out on spiritual blessings and too proud to admit it. If someone has a spiritual experience that we haven’t does that mean they are closer to God than we are? Does it mean that we are spiritually deficient? How embarrassing that would make us feel – especially if we are considered spiritual leaders! And how much easier is it to reject someone’s experience out of hand than to humbly seek the Lord for answers.

This is exactly the situation in John 9. A poor beggar, blind from birth, is healed – his sight is restored. But when the pharisees find out about it they grill him, then his parents, and then start in on him again. They won’t accept that he has been miraculously healed and reject his testimony about his healer.

It has been my experience that those greatly blessed of God, whether it be physical healing, financial provision, or a release from emotional bondage, don’t become holier-than-thou. They don’t receive their blessing like it was a fulfilled expectation. To the contrary they are humbled and awed beyond belief. They’re not sure how it happened and not exactly sure why. But they do know the blessing had come, it had changed their life, and it was vastly disproportionate to their worthiness. What a contrast to the attitude of the pharisees.

The other thing this once-blind man knew and acknowledged publicly – his sight came from Jesus!

Prayer:
Lord, every good and perfect gift is from You. Just as You liberated this man’s eyes, please open the eyes of my heart that I might see you more clearly. I am grateful for the myriad of undeserved blessings You have poured into my life. May I be humble and grateful when I see You bless others as well, even if it is in ways I cannot immediately fathom.

Responses

  1. It really is amazing how we look at such amazing events. I think that I often look at such miracles enviously. Randy, you nailed it on the head in saying that we might think others are more spiritual. I am often envious of the way God has acted in others’ lives. But the question that remains is this: is how God acted in this beggar’s life more miraculous than how he has acted in mine?

    Of course not. Outwardly, yes, it seems more miraculous. But the mere facts remain, two men, taken by grace and changed into something they were not. God’s healing touch, His redeeming power, takes many outward forms, but in the end, no one way is more miraculous.

    I think that is one thing I have gained out of our journaling challenge so far. God acts differently in each of our lives, but it is not more or less. God gets us on our levels, where we need to be met. What touches my life is different than what touches others’ lives.

  2. There certainly is a difference between hungering for the things of God and being jealous of other’s blessings. I think God often uses the blessings in others lives to create a spiritual hunger in us. But as you say, Chappie, it is easy to become wrongly envious.

    Even if others are more spiritually minded and devoted and are blessed accordingly, we have a choice in our response. We can either learn from their example and seek God in similar ways or we can label their blessings as fraudulent and ignore our conscience.

    Paul did admonish the Corinthians, “Be imitators of me, just as I also am of Christ (1 Cor. 11:1).” It is always wise to follow Godly examples. It is not wise to become jealous of them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

