Posted by: randydunning | January 10, 2008

Day 10 | John 10

day-101.png

Text: John 10

Key Verse: 12
“He who is a hired hand and not a shepherd, who is not the owner of the sheep, sees the wolf coming, and leaves the sheep and flees, and the wolf snatches them and scatters them.”

Reflection:
As a pastor this verse causes me to pause and check my motivation to serve Christ’s church. I must ask myself some challenging questions. Am I truly a pastor – a shepherd – or merely a hired hand doing a job? Will I stay as long as things are good or will I run when the wolf comes? Would I lay down my life for the sheep? How much of me is following in the footsteps of Jesus as a shepherd?

This chapter sets the standard for pastors. It reveals the heart of Jesus toward people and calls us to rise to that level of care, concern and sacrifice for those he has entrusted to us.

A couple of other questions arise from this chapter: Do I know my sheep? Do my sheep know my voice and will they follow when I call? Am I leading them into good pastures?

I understand that Jesus is still the good shepherd and have no illusions of taking his place in people’s lives (I want no part of that). Yet, as his under-shepherd, I must answer these questions honestly. Because every congregation of his both needs and deserves a committed and caring shepherd.

Prayer:
Lord, You know it is my desire to serve my church well. Yet there is so much for me to learn – so much room for growth. Show me how to be a shepherd like You are!

Responses

  1. It is so encouraging how the Word causes us to reflect more and more upon who we are and who Christ is making us. I find that so encouraging today!

  2. When I was reading this passage, I began to wonder why no one ever seems to stick up for Jesus. It made me think about all of the times that Jesus seems to have the crowd against him, whether it is them trying to kill him or just causing him problems. He always has to fend for himself or “sneak” away. I can only recall one time when someone actually stood up for Christ. (Even cutting off someone’s ear.) It seems odd that no one ever took a stand for Christ, where as today, it seems like we are constantly on guard or trying to stand up for Christ and his beliefs.

  3. When all the Jews were picking up stones, I can see him looking around at his disciples as if to say, “Hey guys, a little help?” Only to be met with blank stares.

    Perhaps no one was sticking up for Jesus because they were too dumbfounded by what he was saying and just trying to make sense of his teaching.

    I always sensed that, until the day of Pentecost, the disciples were in a little over their heads and that life was moving faster than they were used to. Kind of like rookies just out of college adjusting to the speed of the NFL. Dealing with the Pharisees in Jerusalem was mentally a different ball game than fishing on the Sea of Galilee.

  4. Randy…I am loving so may insights {from men that I usually don’t come into contact with(as you know)}.

    I am sure women would have other comments–they are just too busy to blog!
    Tee-hee


Leave a Reply

Categories

