Posted by: randydunning | January 14, 2008

Day 14 | John 14

day-14.png

Text: John 14

Key Verse: 1, 27
“Do not let your heart be troubled…”

Reflection:
Jesus bookends his discourse with this statement. He seeks to reassure the disciples that they should not be anxious about current and coming events and reaffirm that they know what they need to know and who they need to know to make it through. He seeks to quell their self-doubts.

This chapter comforts me incredibly. How many times do I doubt and doubt profoundly. I think that I have no idea what I’m doing and begin to fret. I feel like things are out of my control and I become frantic. I hear bad news and I begin to lose perspective. I begin feeling alone or isolated and become depressed.

Jesus speaks to all these kinds of feelings, and because he was speaking to the disciples, I’m assuming that they were experiencing them. “I will not leave you as orphans….” “The helper, the Holy Spirit…will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I said to you.” “You know the way where I am going.”

Sometimes I have to say to myself, “Hey, wait a minute! I’m not lost. I do know the way. I’m not left alone in the world. I do have answers to tough questions.” Of course such confidence flows from knowing Jesus. But it is a confidence he wants us to have, no matter how dire the times or our personal circumstances.

Prayer:
Lord, when the circumstances around me produce doubts within me, remind me of what You said in John 14. May these words of comfort and assurance speak to me again and again, that I may not doubt but believe!

Responses

  1. This is why this passage is so encouraging to me: Jesus gives the disciples reason to be confident, yet he has no reason to have confidence in them. His disciples just don’t get what he is talking about, yet Jesus says, “Peace I leave with you…” That gives me hope. That shows grace.


Leave a Reply

Categories

