Posted by: randydunning | January 15, 2008

Day 15 | John 15

day-151.png

Text: John 15

Key Verse: 5
“…apart from me you can do nothing.”

Reflection:
Is it any wonder why it is so difficult to walk closely with Jesus on a day-to-day basis? If we can accomplish nothing of eternal value without him, then those things that oppose Jesus will continually be seeking to separate us from him.

In subtle and not-so-subtle ways powerful forces seek to hammer a wedge between us and our savior. Forces like temporal values, ambition, lust, anxiety, and pride hammer from within while on the outside the hammer is wielded by personal circumstances, relationships, employers, the media and advertisers. Each can strike blows of great consequence. Indeed, walking with Jesus at times means laying hold of him and clinging with all your might.

Even today I struggled to read John 15 as my head kept filling up with tasks on the front burner of my life and my heart was burdened by the anxiety of how to accomplish them. And then Jesus says, “…apart from me you can do nothing.” Timely! Very timely.

One of my favorite hymns is “Abide With Me” (Henry F. Lyte, 1847). It speaks to my circumstances today.

Prayer:
Abide with me; fast falls the even tide.
The darkness deepens; Lord, with me abide.
When other helpers fail and comforts flee,
Help of the helpless, O abide with me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

