Posted by: randydunning | January 19, 2008

Day 19 | John 19

day-191.png

Text: John 19

Key Verse: 15
“Pilate said to them, ‘Shall I crucify your King?’ The chief priests answered, ‘We have no king but Caesar.'”

Reflection:
The chief priests don’t mince words, boldly declaring their total apostasy. God reigning as the Lord of the Jews was a fundamental truth from the time of the Mosaic covenant. “Then I will take you for My people and I will be your God.” As much as God desires Israel to uphold that truth, they clamor for a king in 1st Samuel and when God himself comes to them in flesh as the King of Glory, they fail to recognize him. They may have thought that God was their king but their statement in v. 15 to Pilate spoke more truth.

When I sin (i.e. fail to follow the commands of Christ or to do the good I ought) it means I have simply forgotten who the King is. I’ve chosen to lay aside the truth in exchange for the fulfillment of some selfish desire. It is my guess that the less I view God as King the more I will struggle with the pitfalls, disappointments and consequences of poor judgment and bad behavior.

Just as God didn’t let the Pharisees get away with crucifying their King without boldly reminding them in writing of their choice (“‘Pilate also wrote an inscription and put it on the cross. It was written, ‘JESUS THE NAZARENE, THE KING OF THE JEWS.”‘ v. 19), my erroneous decisions are also pretty evident. As David said, “For I know my transgression and my sin is ever before me.”

Prayer:
Lord, my view of you is out of balance. I need to view you more as reigning King and less as friend, helper, even savior. I am your subject – your bond servant. You bought my life with yours. You are worthy of all my reverence and my complete obedience. If you will yet be my King, I will be one of your people.

Leave a Reply

Categories

