Posted by: randydunning | April 3, 2008

The Battle of Blogging Software

64FAC30C-E638-4C6F-B57D-1375E2C55CAE.jpg VS. MJicon.png

I have been blogging for almost the last year using WordPress (note the url). However, I don’t write most of my posts when logged in to my account on WordPress.com. Instead, I use blogging software on my mac. It gives me more control over the entire process and the interface is, well, the difference between sitting in a White Castle and eating at a fine steak house.

The software I’ve been employing from the beginning is MacJournal from Mariner Software. I purchased it long before I started blogging as a way to record my ministry activity and keep journal entries. The blogging thing seemed like a novelty. Now, I ONLY use it to blog. And MacJournal works quite well.

But I’ve heard many rave reviews about a software program called MarsEdit from Red Sweater Software. Many bloggers I read who use macs swear by it. I was interested in testing it but didn’t really want to fork out another thirty bucks for new software when mine works fine.

But when MacJournal recently released its newest upgrade – MacJournal 5 – and for a $19 upgrade charge, that $29 for Mars Edit didn’t look so bad.

So I’ve downloaded the trial versions of both and am going to give them a head-to-head for the next fifteen days. I’ll keep you posted.

If you had to pick based on the application icon alone, which would you choose?

Leave a Reply

Categories

