Posted by: randydunning | July 1, 2008

An Amazing Call

I received a call from a strange number this evening at 6:40 p.m. The prefix indicated it was a Texas number. I thought, “Who do I know in Texas that would be calling me on a Tuesday evening?” But I reluctantly answered.

The caller turned out to be an Apple technician calling about the status of my computer repair (see previous posts). I noted that I’d been tracking the status and saw they were waiting on an ordered part. The tech informed me that the part was not just ordered, but backordered and that it would be another two weeks (July 14) before they could secure the part and repair my PowerBook. I assured him that was all right as I had procured a loaner from a friend. That is when he said, “Well, let me tell you your second option.”

Then he said these magic words: “We can send you a new MacBook Pro.” After I composed my self (probably only a second or two) I thanked him for not stopping me after I seemed satisfied with option #1 (waiting another two weeks for my 3-year old PowerBook) and gladly accepted option #2. Then he confirmed the specs of my new machine: 15″ MacBook Pro, 2.4 Ghz Core 2 Duo processor, 2 GB Ram and a 200 GB hard drive. Said he’d have it to me in 3-4 days.

Thanks, Lord, for your abundant provision! What a blessing!
design-display-15led20080226-500x278shkl.jpg

Responses

  1. That’s awesome! That kind of customer service almost (almost) makes me want to buy a Mac. But seriously, that is a huge blessing and encouragement!

  2. DANNNNG i wish i’d had that kind of customer service when i got my powerbook fixed – they [Apple] took 6 weeks and totally screwed up my RAM and tried to deny it, to boot. you got seriously lucky, man.


Leave a Reply

Categories

