Posted by: randydunning | August 4, 2008

The Randy Dunning Experience

rde-header-500x176shkl1.jpg

Yesterday my church was treated to (more like endured) what I not-so-affectionately call “The Randy Dunning Experience” or RDE.

The RDE occurs when I have the opportunity to lead music and preach all on the same Sunday. This hasn’t happened for a couple of years at Hope but all the stars aligned just right yesterday. Our church has four worship leaders that rotate from Sunday to Sunday. Every single one of them was unavailable yesterday (three were out of town, one had four wisdom teeth extracted on Friday). And since I got the notice on Thursday, I didn’t feel comfortable asking someone to whip up a sermon on two-days notice. Thus, the RDE rides again!

The service probably went just fine and people were probably blessed by both the singing and the preaching. But I am terribly self-concious about the RDE. I feel it gives the impression that I’m a control freak (which I’m not) and that by the time I’m wrapping up my sermon people are so sick of my face and my voice that any challenge I give will be ineffective.

What I do enjoy about the RDE is that I get to craft a worship service with songs that fit the message (the perfectionist in me loves a tight worship service). I’m also glad to serve my church when either summer or holiday vacation schedules deplete our ranks. I even enjoyed leading singing again (it had been months).

But walking from one side of the stage to the other (even with the buffer of a communion service) is always a bit awkward. Perhaps a wardrobe change would help. I’ll keep that in mind for next time!

Leave a Reply

Categories

